The Apple and the Tree.

14 Jul

I was thinking that I hadn’t really written anything about design (the interior kind) in the short history of this space.  So I went back to my library of things I’d like to have in my apt but for one reason or another don’t.  Then I started picking out pictures and realized that the aesthetics of my choices largely mimicked stuff I already had and followed some clear patterns.  They all had mid-century/modern influences and a striking mix of old and new, dark and light, shiny and dull.  I realized that my taste relies heavily on this weird combination of what you might call the apple and the tree.

The tree side of my brain appreciates dark, warm wooden pieces that feel aged and timeless.  The apple side likes the clean, modern starkness of artificial, unnatural almost high-tech structure.  For example, for my “media center” I’ve got a Wii and a 21 inch White Panasonic TV/VCR next to a Crosley CR85 Collegiate Stack-o-Matic Turntable on top of a dark wooden danish modern coffee table.  This sort of combination can have awkward results.  But for me, it seems to fit well enough.

So here they are:

Eames LCW

Eames LCW

Airia Desk and Organizer

Airia Desk and Organizer

Kaiju Studio Desk Organizer

Kaiju Studio Desk Organizer

Emco 1006

Emco 1006

Ovangkol Table

Ovangkol Table

Leave a Reply

